Renewal of the Charter for the U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy

Office of the Spokesperson

The Department of State has renewed the Charter for the U.S. Advisory Commission on Public Diplomacy (ACPD).  For more than 70 years, the ACPD has appraised U.S. government activities intended to understand, inform, and influence foreign publics and has aimed to increase the understanding of and support for these activities.  The Commission conducts research and symposia that provide honest assessments and informed discourse on public diplomacy efforts across the U.S. government, and it disseminates findings through reports, white papers, and other publications.  It reports to the President, Secretary of State, and Congress.  The Under Secretary for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs’ Office of Policy, Planning, and Resources (R/PPR) provides administrative support for the ACPD.

The Commission consists of seven members appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate.  The members of the Commission represent the public interest and are selected from a cross section of educational, communications, cultural, scientific, technical, public service, labor, business, and professional backgrounds.  By statute, no more than four members may be from any one political party.  The President designates a member to chair the Commission.

The current members of the Commission are: Mr. Sim Farar of California, Chair; Mr. William Hybl of Colorado, Vice-Chair; and Ms. Anne Terman Wedner of Florida.  Four seats on the Commission currently are vacant.

For further information about the Commission, please contact ACPD Executive Director Vivian S. Walker at

* This article was originally published here

SHARE our articles and like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter!

Post a Comment